Online Shop

We at Chibnalls Jewellers understand that buying a diamond can be a bit confusing, what with being bombarded with information about V.V.s. stones, GIA certificates and sixty-something points... so we have set this page up to do our best to help you understand a bit more about diamonds and so take some of the bewilderment from the buying process, and more importantly, to make it a relaxed and enjoyable experience!

Once you have decided what it is you are looking for, please feel free to send us an inquiry and we will begin searching for your stone from our trusted diamond dealers. Our staff have an extensive knowledge of diamonds and we are confident we can find the perfect stone for you!

Possibly the most important of all the "C's", Cut refers to the shape of the stone; whether it is square, rectangular, circular, triangular etc. There are names for each cut, for example, round stones are called 'Brilliant Cut' stones, and this refers to the number of 'facets' (the small flat faces on the surface of the stones) it has, and in the case of Brilliant Cut stones, they all have 52. It takes skill and precision to cut a diamond to the exact dimensions necessary for the best sparkle and fire; too shallow and the stone can lose its brilliance, too deep and the stone will appear dark or may have a black spot at the bottom when viewed from the top. A skilled cutter can also minimise the appearance of the flaws (if there are any) in the stone.
The quality of cut for each stone shape also has a grade, ranging from Excellent to Poor. The certificate will have details of the cut grading for your stone.


This is another very important aspect of choosing your diamond. The 'Clarity' of a diamond refers to if it has any flaws (inclusions) in it, and if so how it effects the appearance of the stone. Some diamonds are completely flawless, and so earn an IF grade (Internally Flawless). These are very rare and are thus very expensive! Other stones have some tiny flaws in them, so small you can't see them without a powerfull magnifying lense and even then it is very hard to spot them. These are the V.V.S. (Very Very Small inclusions) and V.S. (Very Small inclusions) grade stones. S.I. (Small Inclusions) refers to stones with little flaws in them, ones you still need a magnifying lense to see, and I.1, I.2 and I.3 (Included) refers to stones with visible flaws and it is this end of the scale where you start to sacrifice the brilliance of the stone because of these inclusions.
Obviously, it is preferable to get a stone with few inclusions in it, however, it is possible to find a beautiful diamond of a slightly lower clarity grade that is more affordable.


You may have heard the term 'white diamond' whilst looking for your stone, and this is basically refering to the colour of the diamond. Not all diamonds are perfectly white, instead there are many different colour gradings which help us differentiate between the shades of the stones, even when it is very difficult to tell if there is any tint in the stone at all. The less tint there is in a stone, the more radiant the stone will appear. If there is a colour in the crystal, its appearance may be less brilliant than a perfectly white one. A 'D' colour stone is as white (or colourless) as you can get, and like the IF stones, are quite rare. The diamonds graded as 'D', 'E', and 'F' are the whitest stones, and those at the 'J' and below rage of the scale are considerably more tinted, and this end of the scale the stones will be noticably less sparkly, especially if this colour grading is paired up with a clarity grade towards the I.1, 2 and 3 end of the scale. Again, it is of course more desirable to get a whiter stone up near the 'D' grade, however there are other colour grades that could be suitable to your cut and clarity grading that would still produce a beautiful stone.


Most of us have heard about half Carat stones, one Carats and 60 pointers but what does that mean in terms of something we can actually relate to? And why are they not just weighed in grams? Well, in a way they are, as a Carat is actually one fifth of a gram, and 100 points to each Carat. So what all this means is a one Carat stone is one fifth of a gram or 100 points, a half Carat stone is one tenth of a gram or 50 points, and so on. In many cases it is easier to think of the points system, for instance when you are dealing with say, 0.73 Carats, it is in many cases simply refered to as a 73 point stone.
The size of a stone is rarely the most important element of the choice process, as many people do not have a specific size stone they would like to have, but rather an idea of roughly the right size for their finger. If working to a budget, it is probably preferable to select a slightly smaller stone in order to get a higher clarity and colour grade, as you would be getting a better quality, and often more radiant, diamond for your money.


The final point to consider when buying a diamond is the Certificate. A diamonds' certificate is like a fingerprint for that stone, and many people do not realise how important the certificate for the diamond is, or exactly what information is found on one.
A good certificate should include the date of analysis, the carat weight, cut, clarity and colour as well as the proportions of each section of the stone. A certificate does not detail monetry value, however it acts as a guideline for how much the stone is worth and thus how much it should be insured for. A good certificate will be able to identify any diamond so you can be sure of what you are paying for.
Now this may all seem a little abstract, but what if you lose the ring, or it gets stolen? The cost of replacing it could be an expense you just can not manage. A genuine certificate could mean the difference between getting the full reimbursement from your insurers or getting very little compared to what it was originally worth. There are several different certifying bodies, the most common one is probably the GIA , which stands for the Gemological Institute of America and is one of the biggest gemological associations in the world. Other certificating bodies include Argyle for pink diamonds, HRD (Hoge Raad Voor Diamant - the European version of the GIA), EGL (European Gemological Laboratory), IGI (International Gemological Institute), AGI (Antwerpse Gemologische Instelling) and AGS (American Gem Society)

After digesting all this information it is important to note that a stone doesn't have to be at the top of every scale to be a beautiful stone, it is also a matter of personal preferance! If you would like to talk to one of our experienced staff members about diamonds or anything you have seen on this site, please contact us with your inquiry and we will get back to you as soon as we can.

Chibnalls Business Hours

Monday - 9:30am – 6:30pm
Tuesday - 9:30am – 6:30pm
Wednesday - 9:30am – 6:30pm
Thursday - 9:30am – 6:30pm
Friday - 9:30am – 6:30pm
Saturday - 9:30am – 1pm
Sunday - Closed
© Chibnalls Jewellers 2018
website by complete web